.

How Do You Feel About The Possibility Of A New Mall In Mahwah?

Your chance to voice your opinion on Patch

As the township is in the midst of a decision about the to the Crossroads complex, which would include 600,000 sq. ft. of retail space.

As the beginning of what will likely be many "You Said It" segments on the community's feelings on the possibility of a mall in Mahwah, Patch caught up with some locals to find out their opinions on the issue.

Jeff Bauer March 09, 2011 at 02:07 PM
This mall is wrong for Mahwah. The traffic study conducted for this project did not evaluate the potential effect on local roads, only the impact on Route 17, and even those numbers are disastrous. No environmental study was conducted; the Ramapo River runs through the property to be developed, and West Mahwah is at this very moment recovering from the latest round of flooding, even without this Mall. Local businesses will suffer as customers are drawn to the mall--these business owners are our friends and neighbors. All this, and for what? The financial benefits to the Township aren't as large as you might think. In fact, factor in the additional police, fire, etc services a mall of this size will require, and we will lose money on the deal. The property should not be rezoned. See www.stopmahwahmall.com and come to the Council meeting on 3/31
Terry March 09, 2011 at 02:08 PM
Enough, enough already. Another mall is not what NJ needs, we're already known as the mall state. Make it something beautiful, such as a park. Beautify the state.
Richard Levine March 09, 2011 at 02:19 PM
Overbuilding is now answer to our taxing problems, and we also have more than enough parks. We just need to drastically cut the budgets, or we will all be bankrupt.
John Camlic March 09, 2011 at 02:33 PM
So you interview a young kid who works at Starbucks and isn't old enough to pay property taxes and whose mommy probably drives him to work each day? And you interview a construction worker who could be benefit while this behemoth is being built? How about interviewing the home owners whose property values will sink? Or those who have to commute on Rt. 17 and 287 each day and fight the already horrible traffic? Or the people who will have to contend with the spillover of that traffic onto their local streets? Or those whose homes near the Ramapo River could have more flooding problems? Or the members of the Mahwah volunteer fire department and volunteer ambulance department who will have to answer calls at the Mall and barely have enough members to cover the town as it is? Or the people who live on Stag Hill Road who will have problems getting in and out of their community because of traffic going to and from the mall? What about them?
Joey Bourgholtzer March 09, 2011 at 02:47 PM
This mall would change the whole character of Mahwah. The traffic would not be confined to Rt. 17. When 17 backs up, drivers seek shortcuts through our local roads and neighborhoods, which are already overburdened. The rivers and flooding, pollution and crime, local businesses suffering, and TRAFFIC, TRAFFIC, TRAFFIC! What made YOU decide to move to Mahwah? Let's not bring Paramus to Mahwah! That's what this mall would do.
Jessica Mazzola (Editor) March 09, 2011 at 02:55 PM
Hey John -- As mentioned in the article, we will be around town interviewing lots of people about this topic. We are trying to reach out to all segments of the population, which include young people, construction workers, and everyone that you mentioned in your post. So, if you see me around town with my video camera, please say hi and I'll interview you for your opinion! Thanks for the input :)
Mary K. Sullivan March 09, 2011 at 03:15 PM
Enough already with these malls! Haven't you noticed all the empty storefronts along Route 17 and in town Ridgewood, for example? Save your community and break the highway trend! Local businesses are the backbone of our towns and shopping the highway hurts all of us. I'm from Ramsey and against building any more malls especially one the size of Paramus Park. More traffic will be created and "Paramus North" will be created. STOP!
Mari Meli March 09, 2011 at 03:20 PM
If this were a large mall, like Paramus Park, or worse, I would totally be against it. But it is my understanding that it will be one big-box store, a few smaller stores, plus a theater, and I would welcome that. I also welcome any re-working of that flyover that may happen as a result. I have never seen a backup of cars going into Interstate or Ramsey Square from Rt.17, so I don't see how this smaller mall will create the traffic problems that some are concerned about.
Joey Bourgholtzer March 09, 2011 at 03:40 PM
Hi Mari--Your information is incorrect! This IS the size of Paramus Park, MUCH, MUCH larger than Ramsey Square. It allows TWO wholesale/warehouse stores, another hotel, huge indoor recreation structures, automotive tire/battery installation shops, supermarkets, and fast food, in addition to that theater that will pour traffic when it lets out. Add in the "smaller stores" that will compete directly with our local businesses and restaurants, and there you have it. This will NOT be a cute little neighborhood downtown, no matter how much the developers try to portray it as such. And that "flyover" will be worse, not better. There is no provision for fixing the "weave" pattern where the highways join--that remains as is. This will draw shoppers far beyond what Ramsey Sq. ever dreamed about.
John Camlic March 09, 2011 at 04:50 PM
Mari, this isn't planned to be a strip mall like the Ramsey Interstate. From what I've seen of the plans, this mall will be as big as Paramus Park with enough space to eventually develop into the size of the Garden State Plaza. The developers are calling it a "lifestyle center" to try to dupe you into thinking it's going to be something it isn't. This is a full blown mall. The theater isn't like the Ramsey theater; the plans call for a multi-plex theater with multiple movies going on at once. Can you imagine the traffic when the theater lets out each hour? Think about it on a Friday night! Have you ever seen the backup on Route 17 on Friday nights? Picture the traffic around Christmas. This is a monster of a mall that they want to bring into town.
Jeff Bauer March 09, 2011 at 05:19 PM
Those who are opposed to this project can sign a petition and comment at http://www.thepetitionsite.com/1/no-mall-in-mahwah/ This petition will be present to the Council before they vote on the ordinances related to this project on 3/31
Marianne Gioni March 10, 2011 at 03:42 AM
Would be quite happy to see the mall built - have looked at the plans and just can't agree with all the doomsayers.
GG March 10, 2011 at 04:39 AM
This mall will be a disaster. It has the potential to grow as large as the Garden State Plaza, which has expanded 5 times. Once it is rezoned for retail, the present owner can sell the property to a mall developer who can come back and sue Mahwah for more retail. Paramus has the highest crime rate in Bergen County and the most traffic. Route 17 North and the Crossroads overpass IS DANGEROUS NOW. Add two price clubs, a huge movie theater, and more stores, and a bad traffic situation will become intolerable, especially during the Christmas season. The traffic will spill onto our local roads, We moved here to get away from the Paramus malls. Mahwah will have to increase its police dept., which will raise our taxes. The mall also poses a threat to our environment and available drinking water. Please attend the final public hearing on the Crossroads Mall proposal on Thursday, March 31th at Mahwah Town Hall. It's urgent that you help stop this unwanted development which will change the face of Mahwah forever. http://www.stopmahwahmall.com
Dorothy March 12, 2011 at 02:16 AM
Development of Croassroads is not in the best interest of Mahwah citizens. The engineer for the township said the development would add 20,000 vehicles per day to the 80,000 that already travel the highway. The proposed traffic changes cannot eliminate the fact that the Roue 17, Route 87, Route 287 merger will not be satisfactorilly remedied. The overall impact of the proposed retail, office, hotel, and recreation development will forever change the uniquesness of Mahwah.
Christy March 12, 2011 at 02:00 PM
Last night (Fri) there was more traffic on Franklin Turnpike than I have ever seen since moving to Mahwah 17 years ago. Cars were going nowhere fast. And this "Mall" has not been built yet. I hate to imagine what will happen when this multiplex movie theater opens. Please sign the petition!
Joey Bourgholtzer March 12, 2011 at 03:22 PM
I too sat in that traffic on Franklin Turnpike last night. There was no accident, etc., it was only VOLUME. People need only to look around, even in the last few days, at the traffic and the FLOODING to know that this mall (built right at the junction of the Ramapo and Mahwah rivers) would be a disaster. If we can't fix the problems that exist, we have no business building a huge mall that will only add to those problems. And so true about property values in Mahwah. People have traditionally moved to Mahwah for a certain quality of life--to escape the malls, traffic, and congestion. Mahwah would lose the unique niche it occupies. "Bergen's Parkland?" No longer! Go to www.stopmahwahmall.com to sign the petition and come to the Council meeting March 31, 8 pm to say NO to this! The Council needs to listen to its residents. This is not a decision for a very few to make over the objections of so many. These are our ELECTED REPRESENTATIVES.
Michael Richards March 13, 2011 at 03:30 AM
Can four people decide the fate of Mahwah? NO MALL IN MAHWAH. Come to the Mahwah Council meeting on Thursday March 31 at 8:00pm at the town hall and let your voice be heard. Please go to www.stopmahwahmall.com to sign the petition!
Daniel Weixeldorfer March 13, 2011 at 02:28 PM
Here are my questions about the project and what I think the residents should have answers about: 1.Who is called for every shoplifting suspect? MPD? 2. Who is called for every car accident in the parking lot? MPD? 3. Who is called for any car stolen from parking lot? MPD? 4. Who is called for every store alarm that goes ? MPD? MFD? 5. Who is called for anyone sick or injuried? EMS?,MPD?,MFD? 6. I would like to here from the head of the EMS what impact if any it would have on them to have to cover the mall. 7. I would like to here what the Chief of Police feels the impact would be on MPD if any. 8. I would like to here from the Fire Chief what impact would there be on his dept if any. 9. I would like to know if a traffic study was done on roads other then RT 17 and if so what were those results. 10. When Willowbrook Malls was built in Wayne they said it would not effect the flood problems Wayne had even though it was built close to the river. Today we all know that that was wrong it did have an impact. I would like to see the results of a study that show what paving that much land does with run off, and where the water will go. 11. What effect if any will this mall have on our water and sewer usage and cost? 12. I have heard the tax dollar revenue estimates from the project but what costs will Mahwah have to collect the revenue? 13. The most important question of all is DO THE RESIDENTS OF MAHWAH REALLY WANT A MALL IN MAHWAH?
Judy Richards March 13, 2011 at 05:04 PM
As a resident of Mahwah, I most emphatically believe a mall built at the Mahwah Sheraton Crossroads would destroy the essence of our town. The developers try to seduce the Mahwah citizens into believing this mall would provide Mahwah with a town center, and liken it to downtown Ridgewood. Would Ridgewood ever allow two 'big box' stores such as Costco or Walmart to be built in the center of their town and is their town center at the crossroads of three major highways such as Route 17, Route 87 and Route 287? We have traffic problems aplenty now at the juncture of Routes 17, 87 and 287, with backups causing spill off onto Franklin Tpke, Island Road, Route 202 and other local roads. Can you imagine the traffic nightmare that will be created after a mall, the size of Paramus Park mall, with two "big box stores", a multi-plex theater, another hotel and 600,000 square feet of retail space including eateries and shops will do? This mall will take business away from Mahwah's local stores and cause them to close. It will lower Mahwah's property values and bring crime to our town. Do we want Mahwah to become "Paramus North"? Do we want the future of OUR TOWN to be decided by 7 people ? Mahwah residents, the time is NOW to join together as a community to fight for OUR TOWN! Come to the Mahwah Town Council Meeting, Thursday, March 31st at 8:00 pm. Visit http://stopmahwahmall.com and sign the petition.
V April 14, 2011 at 03:44 AM
Gioni, have you actively listened to what the "doomsayers" have said? We don't need this. We have enough crap on 17. Mahwah is suburban, not urban. If you want a mall, go move closer to one. But don't bring one here.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something